Blantyre

Robert Paterson acquired the Lenox estate of 220 acres called "Highlawn" from the Dorr family. He tore down the modest house, keeping the outbuildings. Hence, the Carriage House Stables and Potting Shed date from the late 19th century. He set about building a property on a grand scale, although the initial plans were purported to be drawn on the back of an envelope by the architect, Robert Paterson's concept was for no less than a castle of "feudal architectural features," replete with towers, turrets and gargoyles. The house was modeled after his mother's ancestral home in Blantyre, Scotland. Construction began in 1901, at times employing over 300 people on the grounds and buildings. In 1980, Jack and Jane Fitzpatrick fell in love with the abandoned Blantyre and organized to purchase it for their daughter, Ann Fitzpatrick Brown, who became the eighth owner. Determined to restore it to its former elegance, Ann reopened Blantyre in 1981, after extensive renovation. Blantyre achieved the vision of the Fitzpatricks - a beautiful country house, recognized as one of the finest hotels in the world, where guests can come and stay and experience the life and service of a bygone era. Beginning in 2000, Ann and the staff of Blantyre planned and worked toward fully winterizing Blantyre. In May, 2005 Blantyre opened its doors for the first time in 25 years as a year round operation, with as well "the potting shed", Blantyre's cozy and intimate spa.

Images

Info

Town:
Address: 16 Blantyre Road, Lenox, MA 01240, United States
Website: http://www.blantyre.com/
Phone Number: 413-637-3556
Contact email: welcome@blantyre.com
If you added this listing, please log in to make changes.

Is this yours? Claim this to make updates.